Visas are now required for all visitors to Kenya.

Visas can be obtained on arrival at the airport in Nairobi or Mombasa, but Citizens of the following countries need to have a visa prior to arrival in Kenya: Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan Senegal, Somalia, Iran, Lebanon, Iraq, Syria, Libya, Mali, Sudan, Nigeria, Yemen, Cameroon, Pakistan, Tazikstan and North Korea.

Visas can be obtained at the airport upon arrival in Kenya, or from the Kenyan Embassies / High Commissions abroad prior to departure. The visa fee is US$50 (they do not accept credit cards or travellers’ cheques, so you will need to have cash) for three months, allowing return into Kenya from Tanzania or Uganda at no extra fee.

Visa Application Fees

Single entry visa USD 50
Transit visa US 20
Referral visa application fee (non-refundable) USD 10
Multiple entry visa USD100

– Visa fees payable in cash on application.

  • Immunization against Yellow Fever and Cholera are recommended.
  • Anti-malaria pills are recommended for those visiting tropical regions. Anti-malarial drugs should be taken prior to arrival and should be continued for 4 weeks after leaving Kenya. It is also advisable to try and avoid mosquito bites by using repellent and by wearing suitable cover-up clothes in the evening.
  • The other recommended vaccinations are Typhoid, Hepatitis and Polio, and anti-malarial medication is essential.
  • There are good hospitals in the main towns of Kenya while the rural areas have small health centres where one can get basic first aid. It is advisable that all visitors carry some form of medical insurance to cater for any eventualities.
Full Country Name The Republic of Kenya
Area 580,370 sq. km (224,081sq. ml)
Population: 40 million (2012).
Capital city: Nairobi.
People (approx): Kikuyu 24%, Luhya 15%, Luo 12% Kalenjin 12%, Kamba 11%, Kisii 6%, Meru 6%, Maasai/Samburu 2%
Language(s): English, Kiswahili, various indigenous languages. 42 Tribes
Religion(s): Protestant (mainstream) 27%, Protestant (evangelical) 23%, Roman Catholic 31%, Muslim 8%, other 2%, None 2% (Afro Barometer, March 2004)
Head of State: Uhuru Kenyatta (Elected 4 March 2013)
Head of State: Uhuru Kenyatta (Elected 4 March 2013)
Membership of international groupings/organisations: UN, Commonwealth, African Union, WTO, East African Community (EAC), Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD), Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA).

Kenyan shilling (KSH) £1/138Ksh (September 2006) For conversion to other currencies please go to

All the major Credit cards are widely accepted, as are travellers cheques which can be changed in any bank. A commission charge is normally added to any transactions using a credit card.

Banking hours are Monday to Friday: 9.00a.m-2.00p.m (4.30p.m in the major cities). The airport banks are usually open until midnight every day.


Kenya lies in East Africa, and is bordered by Somalia, Ethiopia, Sudan, Uganda, Tanzania and the Indian Ocean. Kenya has a climate ranging from tropical to temperate largely depending on the altitude.


Kenya’s climate varies across the country, from the tropical humidity of the coast, the dry heat of the Savannah or semi-arid areas and the cool air of the highlands. On the average the temperatures may vary slightly from one month to the next throughout the year as shown below;